Home > Market > Leonard Read’s “I, Pencil” comes to life

Leonard Read’s “I, Pencil” comes to life

December 9, 2012

carlitos_Simple_PencilIn 1958 Leonard Read wrote a masterful essay named “I, Pencil“. I first read this essay about fifteen years ago and have always thought it a masterful way to explain how free markets can work and adapt without central planning. This essay pointed out the thousands, if not millions, of people who must interact and work together (even unknowingly) to bring a product to market.

To honor this timeless essay the Competitive Enterprise Institute, with some help from the Foundation for Economic Education, has created a well produced 6 minute video. You can view the video below or go the I, Pencil Movie website to view the video and other interesting facts about this movie and the original essay.

Categories: Market Tags:
  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 28, 2012 at 10:06 pm
Comments are closed.
