Home > Free Speech, Gun rights, Rights, South Dakota > Privacy rights versus first amendment rights in the gun debate: South Dakota SB 97

Privacy rights versus first amendment rights in the gun debate: South Dakota SB 97

January 21, 2013

1269850054 (1)The other day I looked at a few of the gun bills before the South Dakota legislature and added a few comments to each. I didn’t really analyze the wording of them too much, I was more worried about the intent. Since SB 97 has been getting so much negative attention I thought it would be worthwhile to actually look deeper into this bill. After reviewing this bill I believe my initial assessment may have been incorrect. (I have included the current revision of SB97 at the end of this post).

First I will touch on why I believe this bill was introduced. In New York a media organization used FOIA to retrieve the names and addresses of gun permit holders in Westchester and Rockland counties. This information was then used to create an interactive map showing the names and addresses of these permit holders. This interactive map still exists, however the name and address data have been removed to comply with a new law passed by the New York Legislature.

Some detractors of this bill will say “but South Dakota doesn’t require a permit to buy guns”. However those same detractors are supporting a federal law requiring background checks on the purchase of all firearms. Whether the name “permit” is used is irrelevant. If a government mandated background check is required to purchase a firearm, that is essentially a permit in all but name. I believe this bill has been introduced to preemptively protect the private data of South Dakota citizens no matter what happens at the federal level.

This is one of those times the libertarian in me must decide between “information should be available to all” and “privacy rights of individual must be protected”.

As a standard rule I am a fan of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). FOIA has allowed the citizens of the United States to view the activities of the government. By being able to view this activity a new level of accountability has been reached. The mainstream media in particular has been a big user of the FOIA to report on how government programs are actually being run. Transparency in government is always best!

But should the personal data of law abiding US citizens be subject to a FOIA request? I find it difficult  to support such a use of FOIA. The right to bear arms is a fundamental human-born right protected by the 2nd Amendment. Should private citizen data become available to the public just because those citizens are exercising their constitutionally protected right? How about private data regarding first amendment protected rights. Almost every day I exercise my first amendment right to free speech by posting on this blog. Should the government keep a list of political bloggers and allow the public to get my personal information? I would say no to this.

Do we as a society want the government to provide personal data of citizens to be used for political purposes? I would actually say the government should not be collecting such data to being with. However, since the government is collecting this data it is important they recognize the privacy rights of individuals. In my original post I had stated

This bill annoys me only because it should be unnecessary. Moral and ethical privacy standards should not have to be codified.

I stand by these words. But I should have continued to analyzed the bill before going further.

By deciding to publish the private information of law abiding citizens for political reason the media organization in New York crossed an ethical line that should not be crossed. The organization in question happens to be a left-leaning corporation. But I could see a right-leaning organization doing the same thing with private data such as welfare check recipients. Data should be protected no matter what political party uses that data, or how good their intentions are. I still think the media organization in question crossed an ethical line. But crossing ethical lines is not necessarily a reason to create a law.

Even though I think the media organization in question crossed an ethical line, I do not think  they did anything that should be illegal. The true criminal act in this case was executed by the government. The government should not have allowed the personal information of private citizens to be given out simply because they were exercising constitutionally protected rights.

That is where SB 97 breaks down. Here is the main deal-breaker of this bill:

No person, newspaper, periodical, publication, or electronic medium may publish or make public any information with the intent…

SB 97 prevents citizens from using their right to free speech and it prevents news organizations from using their freedom of press rights. Both of these rights are protected by the First Amendment of the US Constitution. For this reason I simply cannot support SB 97.

Instead of restricting the individual free speech and freedom of press rights the legislatures in Pierre must look at how the data is handled. The legislatures involved in this bill should go back to the drawing board and create a bill that restricts government from sharing the private data of lawful citizens. A law with the following spirit should be written instead (I say spirit because I’m not sure of the best legal way to say it):

No government agency shall share the private data of citizens engaged in a right protected by the US Constitution. This includes the address, location, telephone number, e-mail address, or other electronic contact information.

A bill such as this would protect the privacy of citizens engaged in Constitutionally protected rights without trampling on first amendment rights. Instead of making a gun-specific privacy rights bill the legislature in Pierre should strengthen the privacy rights of all citizens engaged in protected rights. Taking such an action should receive support from legislatures of almost any political background.

 

 

South Dakota Senate Bill 97

This bill was introduced by Senators Monroe, Begalka, Ewing, Jensen, and Otten (Ernie) and Representatives Hoffman, Ecklund, Greenfield, Haggar (Don), Heinemann (Leslie), Hickey, May, Miller, Nelson, Olson (Betty), Rounds, Russell, and Stalzer. Here is the text of SB 97:

FOR AN ACT ENTITLED, An Act to prohibit the publication of certain information pertaining to firearm possession and ownership.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF SOUTH DAKOTA:

Section 1. No person, newspaper, periodical, publication, or electronic medium may publish or make public any information with the intent of revealing the identity or location of any person in this state based on the second person’s legal ownership or possession of a firearm. Such prohibited information includes any information that would enable another person to contact or locate the person who owns or possesses the firearm, as follows:

(1) The name, address, location, telephone number, e-mail address, or other electronic contact information of the person who owns or possesses a firearm; and

(2) Any other information relating to any weapons permit, background check, or other information pertaining to the ownership, possession, or procurement of firearms by the person.

A violation of this section is a Class 1 misdemeanor.

  1. June 1, 2013 at 11:14 am

    Quality articles or reviews is the crucial to attract the users to
    visit the website, that’s what this site is providing.

  2. pure green coffee bean extract max
    June 5, 2013 at 5:50 pm

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first pay a visit of this website; this weblog includes awesome and genuinely good stuff for readers.

  3. June 6, 2013 at 5:14 am

    You really make it seem really easy along with your presentation but I in finding this matter
    to be actually one thing which I feel I might
    by no means understand. It sort of feels too complex
    and extremely vast for me. I’m looking ahead for your subsequent post, I will try to get the grasp of it!

  4. June 20, 2013 at 6:17 am

    You need guidelines on where to invest and locations to
    avoid. And will provide a higher rate of return on your hard earned investment.

    You do not want your business to be part of the statistics when another global or local economic meltdown strikes.

  5. June 24, 2013 at 1:45 am

    Wonderful article! That is the kind of info that should be shared
    around the web. Disgrace on Google for now not positioning this submit upper!
    Come on over and visit my site . Thank you =)

  6. June 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm

    He was both the hero that saved the colonies and the villain that almost brought them down.
    Investment in property in Barnsley is a smart choice
    for any investment agency or potential property owner or landlord.
    Make a note of the activities that need to be carried
    out for your property business to be successful and tick
    off those tasks each firm can do for you.

  7. July 15, 2013 at 8:15 pm

    I hardly comment, however i did some searching and wound up here Privacy rights versus first amendment rights in the gun debate: South Dakota SB 97 | SoDakLiberty.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Could it be only me or does it appear like a few of the responses look like they are
    left by brain dead people? 😛 And, if you are writing at other social sites, I’d like to keep up with anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your public sites like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  8. July 16, 2013 at 5:00 am

    Hi there! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new apple iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the fantastic work!

  9. July 18, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    If some one wants to be updated with hottest technologies after that he
    must be pay a quick visit this web page and be up to date every day.

  10. July 20, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    If you want to increase your experience simply keep visiting this site and be
    updated with the newest information posted here.

  11. July 20, 2013 at 11:44 pm

    In 1926, he wrote Introduction to Experimental Embryology,
    in 1930, he wrote The Embryos and Evolution and in 1934, together with Huxley, he wrote The Elements of
    Experimental Embryology. Like other building projects, your shed project will
    begin with a shed plan. They catch their prey with their venomous bite which normally kills them within seconds.

  12. July 23, 2013 at 12:06 am

    Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I find It really useful &
    it helped me out much. I’m hoping to offer something again and help others like you helped me.

  13. August 5, 2013 at 12:32 pm

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you can be a
    great author.I will be sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back later
    in life. I want to encourage you to definitely continue your great writing, have a
    nice weekend!

  14. September 5, 2013 at 11:35 am

    Greetings! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project
    in a community in the same niche. Your blog provided us valuable information to work on.
    You have done a marvellous job!

  15. December 21, 2013 at 3:18 am

    Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very
    techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about creating my own but I’m not sure where
    to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Appreciate it

  16. March 3, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too. This type
    of clever work and exposure! Keep up the great works guys I’ve added you guys to my own blogroll.

  17. March 17, 2014 at 11:24 pm

    Hi, after reading this remarkable paragraph i am also cheerful to share my familiarity here with friends.

  18. March 27, 2014 at 1:38 am

    Wow, superb blog format! How lengthy have you been running a blog for?
    you made running a blog look easy. The total look of your web site is
    great, as neatly as the content!

  19. May 9, 2014 at 2:34 am

    Hey this is kind of of off topic but I was wanting to
    know if blogs use WYSIWYG editors or if you have to manually
    code with HTML. I’m starting a blog soon but have no coding know-how so I wanted to get guidance from someone with experience.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  1. January 21, 2013 at 9:46 pm
Comments are closed.
