Home > libertarian > Reconnecting with New Years resolutions due to PRISM

Reconnecting with New Years resolutions due to PRISM

June 8, 2013

under_constructionI have tried almost a dozen times in the last two days to write a post about PRISM and its ramifications.  Each time I had to delete my draft post. It was hard to write a post that didn’t come off as saying the following: “You should have listened to us about FISA, dumbasses!” That is not what I want to say, but I couldn’t find a way to write about the subject without it sounding similar. 

So instead of writing that, I will direct readers to this post from The Displaced Plainsman. His post sums up the situation very well.

Going forward I must reconnect with my New Years resolutions. I posted these resolutions this last New Years Eve. They were actually written by Harry Browne in 1998. In particular I must work on the following 3 resolutions:

I resolve to cleanse myself of hate, resentment, and bitterness. Such things steal time and attention from the work that must be done.

Being mad at those that allowed FISA to get to this state helps nothing. Instead of attacking people it is time to move forward and find a way beyond PRISM. I do think there are many paths going forward that lead to improved liberty. These positive paths must be the focus.

I resolve to remind myself that someone’s “stupid” opinion may be an opinion I once held. If I can grow, why can’t I help him grow?

FISA has been around since the 70’s. I did not become aware of FISA myself until the early 2000’s. How can I expect everyone to understand the downsides of FISA when I myself spent most of my life unaware of it. Not everyone understands the ramifications of the expansion of FISA in the last decade. So instead of attacking people for ‘not knowing’ it is time to get back to informing!

I resolve to be civil to my opponents, and treat them with respect. However anyone chooses to treat me, it’s important that I be a better person than my enemies.

This is one I always try to abide by. It is the way I was raised. However I am also a naturally sarcastic person. I must find a way to balance this. Also, stooping to “I told you so” tactics is a sign of disrespect. If I disrespect anyone taking the time to listen to (or read) my words I will likely break any chance of real communication.

I have a FISA related post planned for this Monday. I have tasked myself with trying to find a way to write about the subject in a positive and respectful manner.

Categories: libertarian Tags: , , ,
  1. June 9, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    Good reminders.

    It would be so much easier to practice these resolutions if sarcasm wasn’t so much fun.

    • Ken Santema
      June 9, 2013 at 6:16 pm

      I know. Sarcasm is a way of life!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
