Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > Weiland is looking better as a Senate candidate, but still against collective rights

Weiland is looking better as a Senate candidate, but still against collective rights

August 12, 2013

MM900173989[1]I’ve purposely been keeping my 2014 campaign posts to a minimum (call me old-fashioned, but I prefer candidates to announce AFTER Labor Day). Yet I can’t help but notice Weiland is running what I consider a good campaign to take on Rounds for the Senate seat. South Dakota Kos posted a good series of stories about the Senate race so far. This from the Argus Leader:

So far, Weiland is concentrating on running a populist, grass-roots campaign. At stops such as his Elk Point town hall meeting, Weiland rails against “big money,” “big insurance companies” and “big ag.”

“We need to take our government back from the big money special interests that are controlling it,” Weiland told half a dozen Elk Point voters at Pace’s.

This from the Rapid City Journal:

“I’m not having a hard time convincing people that our country has been hijacked by big-money special interests,” Weiland said Tuesday. “A gentleman at my town hall in Watertown last Saturday said it best. He said our country would never have declared its independence over two centuries ago if big-money special interests had been around. And he is exactly right.”

Weiland is playing on the “big money” theme in part because Rounds has announced his intentions to raise $9 million. The former governor argues that he’ll need that much to counter attack advertising in the primary and general election likely to distort his record and positions.

And finally this from the Plainsman:

“I believe that we would have had better health care reform if the big insurance companies and the big drug companies weren’t at the table, telling members of Congress how they had to vote,” he said Tuesday in Huron.

The same goes for the farm bill and energy policy, Weiland said.

“We need to drive big money out of our political system and we can do it. We can do it,” he said.

I agree with everything he has been saying about the current state of crony capitalism happening in DC today. The medical, ag, and energy industries are huge recipients of corporate welfare. These huge companies are doing more to set “economic policies” than the many elected officials in DC. I think this is the perfect route to taking on Rounds (assuming Rounds wins the primary, for me it’s too early to make that a solid assumption).

Weiland’s words almost make me believe he understands (as many of us do) that Obamacare was never written as a way “to help the poor”. It was written by the medical and insurance industries as one of the largest corporate welfare bills in US history. It has always been mind-boggling to me that parts of the left who typically oppose crony capitalism would support Obamacare. Honestly I think the Democrat party would have been better off going after a single-payer system or true medical welfare for the poor (both concepts I would still fight against, but at least it would have been a truer fit with liberal ideology).

Does that mean I support Weiland now? Hmm, nope. He still is on his Citizens United kick that started off his campaign. This from the Plainsman:

If elected, he said one of the first things he will do is introduce a constitutional amendment to ban big money from the political process. He admits it will take time to get the job done, but he is also convinced it can happen.

This shows Weiland still wants to take away the ability of citizens to collectively use their rights. Such a step not only affects “evil big corporations”, but also would adversely impact: non-profit corporations, unions, small businesses, and any other group of people that wish to collectively use their First Amendment rights.

Now Weiland does seem reasonable. So I will wait until I can catch him at one of his events to actually ask if he would consider other routes to removing cronyism dollars from DC politicians. Until then I will consider Weiland still a no, but with some hope of a possible yes in the future.

  1. Drew Dennert
    August 13, 2013 at 12:02 am

    Weiland is a HARDCORE liberal

    • Ken Santema
      August 13, 2013 at 8:33 am

      He definitely is. I was hoping he would be able to put up a good campaign against whoever wins the Republican primary though. I really hate elections that are simply handed to one party or another. Candidates should earn their votes.

  2. August 13, 2013 at 10:45 am

    Weiland will be in Aberdeen tomorrow, Wedensday: 4 p.m. at Mugs, 5:30 p.m. at Brown County Fair. I look forward to your pix and report! http://www.rickweiland.com/news/article/take-it-back-tour

    • Ken Santema
      August 13, 2013 at 1:38 pm

      Think I’ll have to head over to Mugs tomorrow. I’m always up for free pie!

  1. August 15, 2013 at 12:15 pm
Comments are closed.
