Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > Gant will not seek re-election as SOS, now we can look forward

Gant will not seek re-election as SOS, now we can look forward

September 11, 2013

MM900173989[1]There has been a bit of good news today. Over at the Argus David Montgomery reports that Gant will not seek a second term as Secretary of State. Like many in the South Dakota blog-sphere I have been somewhat critical of some actions taken by Gant and believed it was time for him to be replaced. Thanks to Gant’s announcement focus can be placed upon finding the right candidate for the job; as opposed to simply fighting against the person currently holding the job.

Montgomery does include this summary of Gant’s leaving:

Gant said the reason he wasn’t running was because he had accomplished his goals, including improving the secretary of state’s online presence and promoting vote centers, where citizens can vote anywhere in their jurisdiction rather than just at a particular precinct.

“I have met and exceeded my goals and am confident that the next secretary of state will inherit a government agency that is at the forefront of technology,” Gant said.

To give credit, Gant has done some good work on the technology side of the election process. Gant then goes on to say potential challengers didn’t impact his decision not to run. That may or may not be true. However, no matter what I think it is good that Gant recognizes he is not the proper person for the job going forward and is willing to move on.

Shortly after posting about Gant’s need to be replaced I received many emails mirroring my feelings. Among these emails were some from people supporting Shantel Krebs. In his article Montgomery mentions that Krebs has been intending to run for some time and will officially announce soon. I look forward to speaking with Shantel in order to determine where she stands on relevant issues. Most of the comments I’ve heard about her have been complementary and highlight her as a good-fitting candidate. I am not sure of that yet, but I hope in the next few months to find out.

There are other rumors I’ve heard (and will not publish here) about multiple potential candidates in the SOS race. Pat Power did put one of these rumors ‘to ink’ by mentioning Senate Assistant Majority Leader Dan Lederman. I’m undecided about whether Lederman running would be a good thing. There are many issues I don’t like that Lederman has taken as a legislator. I’ll have to research more to see if this would also make him a questionable Secretary of State candidate.

No matter what, I look forward to a fresh start for the Secretary of State office in South Dakota. Unless Gant makes any missteps in the next year I doubt he will be the topic of another post here. Instead I will focus upon examining the announced candidates in the race.

  1. Stephanie Strong
    September 11, 2013 at 7:44 pm

    Thank you Jesus for the turn of events. Senate Assistant Majority Leader Dan Lederman is not the right man for the job. Please note his voting record. http://www.americanclarion.com/11570/2012/08/21/2012-south-dakota-freedom-index-released/. Let’s take a look at the integrity and someone who does take their oath of office serious such as Representative Dan Kaiser District 3. I do not know you yet Ken about taking the position. Would really love to vet all candidates interested and have an honest question and answer forum where we can get some great dialogue going and have real answers of questions asked.

    • Ken Santema
      September 12, 2013 at 6:02 pm

      I intend on speaking with Shantel this weekend in Redfield to find out where she is coming from and where she stands on SOS-related issues. Lederman is harder one for me to give credence to. There are a lot of votes from him I don’t like. However I’m going to break it down to areas that actually relate to SOS areas and see how he looks. I don’t expect him to look much better after doing that.

  2. September 12, 2013 at 8:55 am

    Krebs will disappoint you. Krebs is Gant in policy, with more competence, ambition, and photographability.

    • Ken Santema
      September 12, 2013 at 6:03 pm

      Yeah, I’m skeptical right now. But I’m willing to giver her a shot and hear what she has to say.

  1. June 18, 2014 at 4:47 pm
  2. August 1, 2014 at 4:29 pm
Comments are closed.
