Home > Free Speech > Free Speech Week 2013: Freedom of Speech quotes

Free Speech Week 2013: Freedom of Speech quotes

October 27, 2013

It is Day 6 of Free Speech Week 2013. I thought it would be a good time to post some of my favorite free speech quotes. The following list is in no particular order of favoritism or importance.

  • Frederick Douglass: To suppress free speech is a double wrong. It violates the rights of the hearer as well as those of the speaker.
  • Charles Bradlaugh: Without free speech no search for truth is possible… no discovery of truth is useful.
  • Neal Boortz: Free speech is meant to protect unpopular speech. Popular speech, by definition, needs no protection.
  • Jeff Dunham: I’ve skewered whites, blacks, Hispanics, Christians, Jews, Muslims, gays, straights, rednecks, addicts, the elderly, and my wife. As a standup comic, it is my job to make sure the majority of people laugh, and I believe that comedy is the last true form of free speech.
  • Dana Carvey: I think free speech is probably the coolest thing we have in this country, and again, you can label it hate speech and dismiss it, and then you’re allowed to censor it.
  • Thomas Sowell: Both free speech rights and property rights belong legally to individuals, but their real function is social, to benefit vast numbers of people who do not themselves exercise these rights.
  • George Washington: If the freedom of speech is taken away then dumb and silent we may be led, like sheep to the slaughter.
  • Brad Thor: I live in America. I have the right to write whatever I want. And it’s equaled by another right just as powerful: the right not to read it. Freedom of speech includes the freedom to offend people.
  • George Orwell: If liberty means anything at all, it means the right to tell people what they do not want to hear.
  • George Carlin: Their only words. You can’t be afraid of words that speak the truth, even if it’s an unpleasant truth.

As a bonus here is one of my favorite Free Speech and Free Choice rants from Denis Leary in the movie Demolition Man:

And finally here is one of the greatest free speech songs out there and is a direct response to Tipper Gore and the PMRC. This is a rap song from Ice T (with Bodycount) and would be considered by many to be ‘explicit’. So if you don’t like a lot of “bad words” I wouldn’t watch it.

