Home > SD 2014 Ballot > Does the Democrat Candidate for House want to represent South Dakota, or just get a new job in DC

Does the Democrat Candidate for House want to represent South Dakota, or just get a new job in DC

November 20, 2013

resumeApparently 2014 will be a year for South Dakota candidates that represent all that is wrong with DC. Earlier I posted about Rounds and how he would simply add to the status-quo paid-for politicians already in DC. Now I see an Aberdeen American News article about Corinna Robinson from her appearance at the Brown County Democrats Holiday Potluck last night. I briefly mentioned Ms. Robinson in a post last month when she entered the US House race. At that time I feared she may wish to return DC to when “both big parties loved to pass big government bills for each other while pretending to oppose each other.”

This from the AAN article:

She recently resigned as director of the Anti-Terrorism and Force Protection Directorate at the Pentagon Force Protection Agency so she could run for Congress.

“When I saw the government shutdown being imminent, I will never forget, especially when I heard about what was going on in South Dakota. I walked down the hallway and told my boss, I said, ‘Sir, I know what I’m doing here is important, but I can do better. I need to resign, drive cross-county and run for Congress. And when I do that, I’m going to win and I will be right back a year from now because this will not happen under my watch, ever,’” she said.

Now, I have no problem with her  years of service to this country; I actually commend that. But I do have a problem with her choosing to represent South Dakota as a long-time DC resident that moves back to our state so she can be sent back to DC. That is not serving the people of South Dakota. Instead it looks like Ms. Robinson is looking for a different job in DC and thought Congress would be a good career move. Hearing about ‘what was going on in South Dakota’ is not the same as residing here and living what is happening in South Dakota. I really don’t feel that South Dakota would be best represented by someone who chose to move back here simply to run for office.

When she entered the race I hoped it would make for good competition against Noem (who also needs to go). But now it looks like she is someone looking for a career change in DC. Hopefully we will see some worthy entries in the House race in the next few months. If not, I fear South Dakota’s lone House of Representative seat will be retained by the DC status-quo.

  1. Liberty Dick
    November 20, 2013 at 4:55 pm

    Not only does she appear to be a carpet bagger I think she was a deployment dodger in the military as well. 25 years of service, out in 2009 but only deployed once??? I almost had to go twice in my 3 years from Sept. ’03 – Dec. ’06…

    • Ken Santema
      November 20, 2013 at 5:09 pm

      That is odd to have only one deployment (if true). I was in the Army just a little over five years and had more deployments than that.

  2. Merlyn Schutterle
    November 20, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    I want to hear what she has to say for herself, not the words we put in her mouth, and the facts we may be inclined to twist ourselves or the image we may be trying to portray.

    • Ken Santema
      November 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      I agree. I think everyone should listen to her and all candidates and form their own opinions. I get my opinion out there, but don’t expect everyone to agree with me.

      But then in this case she has spent 25 years away from South Dakota. I just can’t give too much credit to a candidate that is moving to a state to run for an office. But that is my opinion.

      • Merlyn Schutterle
        November 20, 2013 at 11:09 pm

        It is always good to be skeptical of others, but it is also good to be skeptical of our own opinions. I’m not too sure my batting average is all that good myself.

      • Ken Santema
        November 21, 2013 at 9:05 am

        Agreed. I’ve figuratively kicked myself many times when I’ve forgotten to take my own bias into account on an issue.

  1. July 1, 2014 at 5:03 pm
Comments are closed.
