Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > Watch Independent South Dakota gubernatorial candidate Michael Myers Press Conference

Watch Independent South Dakota gubernatorial candidate Michael Myers Press Conference

January 19, 2014

This last week Independent South Dakota gubernatorial candidate Michael Myers held a press conference to announce the Lieutenant Governor running with him and start his petition drive. Here is the video of a portion of the Press Conference provided on the Michael Myers for Governor website:

Part 1 of 2

Part 2 of 2

Some might criticize Mr Myers for not having a big flashy press conference or a prepared speech. I actually like the fact he handled this press conference in an ‘off the cuff’ manner. But in the end I don’t care about the presentation part and want to focus on what he said. Here are a few brief thoughts I took away from this press conference:

  • Mr Myers and his Lieutenant Governor, Caitlin Collier, have very different political views. But both are independent and will work with each other. I think this is a valuable lesson for all politicians looking at an executive office. Would it better to have a 2nd that cheers everything on? Or one that would bring up alternative viewpoints? Personally I think it would be more useful to have a second that brings up alternative views.
  • He can do 20 push-ups. (but he didn’t break the plane on all of them.. I hated taking my PT test and getting push-ups disqualified for that reason).
  • Mr Myers as a law professor taught many of those that are now lobbying politicians in Pierre. He knows how they operate and understands their goals.
  • He said “hemp is marijuana in the same way that whiskey is corn”. I wish more politicians would do things to take on the War on Drugs. No matter how a person feels about drugs, it is clear the War on Drugs has caused more harm in society than any good that was intended. Hemp production being banned is one of those unintended consequences. Hemp is NOT marijuana. It is a cash crop that we have to import because it is similar to a drug some people contend are bad.
  • It is hard for an Independent to get media attention. For years I worked with third parties on issues and can relate to his problem. The mainstream media generally won’t even look at independent candidates. To be fair though, Myers has gotten some press this year; South Dakota mainstream media is doing better than some states I follow.
  • Mr Myers had his healthcare marketplace radio show cancelled because one of the two big healthcare providers in the state didn’t like what he was saying. Those opposed to Obamacare may want to listen to what he has to say on this issue going forward.
  • Mr Myers is shooting for 5,000 signatures to get on the ballot. When trying to reach the roughly 3,000 signatures required it is likely the SOS office will disqualify a lot of signatures gained. Myers has a couple of good people on his team, but it will be tough for him to get all of these signatures on time.
  • The SD Secretary of State office wants $5,000 for a hard copy of all voters registered Independent in South Dakota. Completely out of budget for an grass-roots campaign.
  • The SD Secretary of State office wants $2,500 for a digital copy of all voters registered Independent in South Dakota. Still out of budget for a grass-roots campaign.
  • Favorite line of the presser: “If they quack like a God-dang for-profit duck, I think they out to pay taxes like a for-profit duck”. Personally I would rather get rid of all corporate taxes; but I agree at least in part with what he is saying here. These large healthcare companies are anything but non-profit!

Unfortunately the videos provided do not have any statements from Collier. But the Argus leader article on the presser does have one paragraph that sticks out:

Collier also proposed an “infrastructure core” project to rebuild roads, bridges and other necessities as a method to put people to work.

This statement has me worried because many of the infrastructure projects from the 30’s and 40’s are often said to have created employment and enriched the economy. Yet at the same time other parts of the economy that were not ‘boosted’ were hurt because of the centralized movement of resources and manpower into politically favored industries. I would be interested to hear what Mr Myers has to say on the subject.

In the future I hope to talk more at-length with Mr Myers. But for now I am happy he is in the race because he adds a different perspective. I’m not sure if I support him as a candidate yet, but I do support him being in the race and look forward to what he says in the future.

  1. tara volesky
    January 19, 2014 at 4:41 pm

    Ken, thank you for being open minded.

  2. Merlyn Schutterle
    January 20, 2014 at 9:03 am

    Since Dargaard broke his promise to me while he shook my hand and took my money and then covered up for the abuse by his bureaucrats, I won’t be supporting him. I’m tired of career politicians. I will work for MIke regardless what his stand is.

    I don’t use pot, but you are soooooo right. The laws against it has caused much, much more harm than good. They like to use the “protect our children” lie to defend it. Kids can get it anytime they want as I understand it. I always hate it when they use kids in that shell game.

    • January 20, 2014 at 12:21 pm

      Yea, that is the tough part about speaking against the War on Drugs. I do not advocate drug use, but that doesn’t mean I want the war to continue. It is time to realize current policies are not working.

      • Merlyn Schutterle
        January 20, 2014 at 1:06 pm

        You have encouraged me to start my own web site about corruption and evil, but I don’t know how to start one. I have some interesting videos and documents that need to be seen by someone besides myself and a few if my friends. Do you have any ideas how I could get it started?

      • January 20, 2014 at 1:58 pm

        That is great!

        My blog is on WordPress.com, I know a lot of bloggers use the Google product Blogger. Both are nice to use because they include all of the tools you need to create posts.

  3. January 20, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    In 1970, the US Supreme Court summarily affirmed a 3-judge US District Court decision that said states must treat petitioning independent candidates the same way they treat parties, on the matter of providing a list of registered voters. I don’t know if South Dakota Sec. of State would charge $5,000 if the Rep Party asked for the list, but if the answer is “No”, then Mr. Myers should sue. Also, the independent candidate petition deadline is almost certainly unconstitutional. We have 51 court precedents that say independent and minor party early petition deadlines are invalid. The former Secretary of State warned the legislature not to move the non-presidential independent deadline from June to March, but as soon as Chris Nelson was gone, the legislature, under Jason Gant’s passivity, moved the deadline to March. Chris Nelson knew that was unconstitutional.

  1. January 19, 2014 at 6:03 pm
  2. June 21, 2014 at 8:57 pm
Comments are closed.
