Home > 2014 SD Legislative Session, South Dakota > South Dakota 2014 Legislature: bills to be addressed in Committee this week

South Dakota 2014 Legislature: bills to be addressed in Committee this week

January 20, 2014

liftarn_English_lawyer_early_20th_century.Tuesday, Jan 21, begins another 4 day work week for the South Dakota legislature. In this post I will list the bills in Committees on the agenda and add some notes for those I am following.

House Health and Human Services CommitteeTuesday, Jan 21, Agenda

HB 1024
place certain substances on the controlled substances schedule and to declare an emergency.
The Committee on Health and Human Services at the request of the Department of Health

This bill was introduced to the Committee on behalf of the Department of Health. Part of this bill attempts to fix some misspellings and other language errors. But the other part is a list of designer drugs the Health Department wants treated as a Schedule 1 drug. These designer drugs are basically synthetic cannabis; which means a ‘normal’ herb has been altered to theoretically have the same effect on humans as cannabis. Personally I think this bill does nothing but expand the failed Drug War in South Dakota. If people really feel drugs are bad they need to find better solutions. Making criminals out of people for using an undesirable substance does nothing but fill up our prisons. I also want to listen to this Committee hearing so I can listen to legislators try call these drugs by their ‘simple’ names such as 5 Fluoro-PB-22 and AB-PINACA.

The committee will also be addressing HB 1025, but that has to do with administrative rules of nursing facilities… not a topic I find overly interesting.

Senate Education CommitteeTuesday, Jan 21, Agenda

SB 62
establish a comprehensive evaluation of the common core state standards and to make an appropriation therefor

I’ll do a post specific to this bill later. Common Core is one of the hot topics this year so I plan to listen to this hearing.

House Transportation CommitteeTuesday, Jan 21, Agenda

There are four bills submitted by the Department of Transportation that appear to clean up language in existing codified law: HB 1036, HB 1037, HB 1042, and HB 1043. HB 1043 in particular appears to repeal a lot of old code.

House State Affairs CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

HB 1013
authorize the South Dakota Building Authority to finance the construction of a visitor center and associated interpretive displays at Good Earth State Park at Blood Run for the Department of Game, Fish and Parks and to declare an emergency

This bill was requested by GFP. It authorizes up to $2 million for building a visitor center and ‘interpretive displays’ at Good Earth State Park at Blood Run. I’m not sure that is necessary, but apparently somebody thinks it is. The part I don’t like about this bill is Section 5, where an emergency is declared to exist so the money can start to be spent immediately after passage of the bill. Such use of the term ’emergency’ in state government is quite annoying…

HB 1019
permit South Dakota to participate in a state authorization reciprocity agreement for distance education programing

The Board of Regents asked for this bill. This bill will let the Board of Regents act on behalf of the State of South Dakota to enter into agreements with the Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE). SD has been a member of WICHE since 1988. I don’t know a lot about this program, but it is aimed at boosting access to higher ed for students in the west. There are 16 states part of WICHE. I will be following this because it is education related and want to learn more about it.

The committee will also be looking at HB 1035, which provides an intern program for the Bureau of Human Resources. Not a topic I really care about…

Senate Local Government CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

The State Board of Elections have requested these three bills: SB 33, SB 34, and SB 35. SB33 appears to make sure election administration can only use money from the government (no outside funds). SB 34 adds language for Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act. I believe this is to allow the SOS to provide technology for those serving and voting overseas. SB 35 revises the terms under which an election can be postponed due to emergency (such as weather). These three bills seem to be more about aligning the codified law with current practices. SB 33 is the only one I am really interested in, I didn’t realize outside money was problem that needed fixing in elections administration.

Senate State Affairs CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

There are two Common Core bills being addressed in this committee. SB 63 is being introduced to protect the privacy of individual students and SB 64 makes sure the Board of Education is slowed down and has plenty of public hearings before implementing any more Common Core initiatives. I will address SB 63, SB 64, and SB 62 (from the Senate Education Committee above) in a different blog post.

House Judiciary CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

The Board of Regents requested two bills that are being address by this committee. HB 1021 amends the definition of “contested case” when dealing with judicial review decisions involving student discipline and residency classification. HB 1023 is a bill to require criminal background checks for certain Board of Regents employees and volunteers. These employees will be fingerprinted and checked out by the DCI and FBI to make sure they don’t have a disqualifying record. Not sure what this one is trying to fix…

Senate Health and Human Services CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

The Department of Health requested SB 30, which has to do with registered nurses…. I have not looking into this one.

House Commerce and Energy CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

HB 1044
authorize limited cosmetology services outside of a licensed salon or booth

HB 1044 is submitted by the SD Cosmetology Commission. Not much to say on this bill. Personally I think all code to this section of the Department of Labor and Regulation need to go away. Laws like the one this bill is amending does not improve public safety. Rather these laws make it hard for new entries into marketplace and raise the cost of doing business. A better bill would be to remove the SD Cosmetology Commission and get rid of most, if not all, of codified laws applying to this area.

HB 1045
revise unemployment insurance contribution rates

This bill was requested by the Dept of Labor and Regulation. This bill changes the employer’s reserve ratio starting in 2015. The reserve ratio impacts how much money the state takes from employers to fund unemployment insurance. To me this bill looks like a back-door tax increase on small business owners. I’ll need to research it more.

HB 1046
revise certain provisions regarding licenses issued by the State Plumbing Commission and the fees that may be set by the commission

The State Plumbing Commission requested this bill. I feel the same about the State Plumbing Commission as I do the SD Cosmetology Commission: it needs to go away. It does nothing but increase the cost of doing business and creates protectionists regulations for current businesses.  This is also a back-door tax increase. The ‘fees’ charged in the codified law this bill is amending are going up. Calling it a ‘fee’ doesn’t hide the fact that it is a tax increase. For instance the maximum fee tax for a single-family dwelling goes up from $50 to $75 under this bill. That is a huge increase!

Senate Taxation CommitteeWednesday, Jan 22, Agenda

Two bills have been requested by the Department of revenue. SB 56 updates language regarding audit standards published by the American Institute of CPA’s. SB 57 removes the requirement that those engaged in trading stamps carry a license to do so. These two bill basically are just cleaning up or removing old code.

House Transportation CommitteeThursday, Jan 23, Agenda

The Department of Revenue requested four bills that are being looked at in this committee.

HB 1056
repeal certain provisions regarding the taxation, the licensing, and the regulation of motor vehicles.

I like this bill because it removes some burdens on business owners. In this case it is aimed at car lots reporting requirements which are redundant, over-burdensome,  or unnecessary.

HB 1059
revise certain provisions regarding the exemption of mass transit motor vehicles from licensing and registration fees and the motor vehicle excise tax.

Most of this bill appears to be dealing with mass transit vehicles that are owned/operated by government agencies. It appears to clarify how the exemption to this tax works with those government agencies.

HB 1060
revise certain provisions regarding military speciality plates

This section simplifies the definitions and procedures for the military specialty plates (there are 16 available).

HB 1061
include limited liability companies in certain provisions regarding the licensing of boats and motor vehicles and certain provisions regarding the dealers and manufacturers of certain vehicles, manufactured homes, and mobile homes.

Just like the description say,s it changes a lot of codified law regarding licensing/manufacturing boats and motor vehicles to treat LLC’s just like Corps. Didn’t realize this was a problem, but apparently it is…

  1. January 22, 2014 at 3:21 am

    Your style is unique compared to other folks I’ve read stuff from.

    Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess
    I will just book mark this site.

  2. May 7, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    Highly recommend hot selling chemical compounds online at http://dealchemical.com/

    THJ-2201, FAB-144, NM-2201,AB-CHMINACA ,A-PHP,SDB-006,AB-PINACA

  3. August 19, 2014 at 6:58 pm

    My family members every time say that I am wasting my time here at
    net, except I know I am getting experience every day by reading such nice posts.

  4. August 20, 2014 at 10:42 pm

    I’m not that much of a online reader to be honest but your sites really nice, keep it up!

    I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later.

    Cheers

  5. January 16, 2015 at 7:42 am

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the greatest blogs on the net. I’m going to highly recommend this site!

  6. January 17, 2015 at 8:06 pm

    Hi there to every body, it’s my first go to see of this blog; this website consists of remarkable and in fact fine material in favor of readers.

  7. January 20, 2015 at 12:04 pm

    This is really interesting, You are an excessively professional blogger. I have joined your feed and look ahead to in the hunt for extra of your wonderful post. Also, I have shared your web site in my social networks

  8. January 21, 2015 at 7:15 am

    After exploring a few of the blog posts on your web page, I seriously like your technique of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon. Please visit my website as well and let me know your opinion.

  9. January 21, 2015 at 11:31 am

    I love what you guys tend to be up too. Such clever work and reporting! Keep up the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my personal blogroll.

  10. January 22, 2015 at 6:40 am

    After looking over a number of the articles on your web site, I seriously appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I added it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back in the near future. Please visit my website too and tell me what you think.

  11. January 22, 2015 at 9:24 am

    I got this web page from my pal who shared with me on the topic of this web site and now this time I am visiting this site and reading very informative articles here.

  12. January 22, 2015 at 11:00 am

    Actually no matter if someone doesn’t understand afterward its up to other visitors that they will assist, so here it takes place.

  13. January 23, 2015 at 8:59 am

    My brother recommended I might like this blog. He used to be entirely right. This publish truly made my day. You can not consider just how a lot time I had spent for this info! Thanks!

  14. January 23, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different page and thought I might check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to looking over your web page for a second time.

  15. January 25, 2015 at 1:22 am

    Thanks to my father who shared with me regarding this website, this webpage is genuinely remarkable.

  1. February 23, 2014 at 8:41 pm
  2. August 22, 2014 at 8:14 pm
Comments are closed.
