Home > Education > Abbott and Costello understood the Investigations math used with Common Core

Abbott and Costello understood the Investigations math used with Common Core

April 9, 2014

Common Core continues to be quite a contentious issue nationally and locally. As a part of the Common Core Standards implementation has also been the transition to “Investigations” math. There are some parts of Investigations I quite like. But one part I don’t like is the idea that having a correct answer is less important than the steps taken to get an answer. Tests used with investigations can actually give a higher score to an incorrect answer with all work shown than a correct answer with no work shown. Today while watching old Abbott & Costello videos I found the perfect situation for Investigations math to be used. Here is the YouTube clip of the Abbott & Costello routine “28”:

And there you have it. By using Investigations math Costello would have gotten a high score by showing 13 x 7 = 28. Costello was decades ahead of the education system and he didn’t even know it!

Since I’m posting old videos I think its worth once again posting this classic Tom Lehrer bit of satire talking about the “New Math” movement back in 60’s.

Categories: Education Tags: ,
  1. April 14, 2014 at 4:17 pm

    hello there and thank you for your information –
    I have certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however
    expertise a few technical points using this web site,
    since I experienced to reload the site a lot of times previous to
    I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your
    high quality score if ads and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and can look out for much more
    of your respective intriguing content. Make sure you
    update this again soon.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
