Home > Taxes > More Tax Day Music

More Tax Day Music

April 15, 2014

It is April 15, also know as Tax Day in the United States. For me personally it is an interesting day. On one hand I believe the current progressive tax system utilized in the United States is actually regressive and prevents poor people from advancing their financial lot in life. But on the other hand I married a wonderful tax preparer ten years ago. My wife and I now own a business that specializes in payroll and income taxes. Seeing first hand the impact taxes have on people’s lives has actually reinforced my belief the current tax system is regressive. But that’s a post for a different day…

Last year I posted 5 great Tax Day songs. Here is a list of 5 more tax-related songs to ‘celebrate’ Tax Day 2014.

The first song comes from The Who. This song basically looks at the troubles that comes from success. Particularly success catches the attention of the tax man in this line: “Six for the tax man, and one for the band.”

I think Johnny Cash summed up well the feeling many people have about the current tax system: “‘Cause from those total wages earned, Down to that net amount that’s due, I fee the painful sense of loss between the two.”

Now is a song I feel belongs, but almost kept of the list because it goes way beyond problems with the tax system. Marvin Gaye recorded this song before I was even born, yet the many problems he lists in this masterful work seem all the more relevant today. Specifically for this post, I am taking note of Gaye talking about not being able to pay taxes due to bad breaks. Many Americans can relate to that today. But even more important in this song is the mention of inflation. Inflation in the United States is actually purposely created by the Federal Reserve and through Congressional spending. It is the biggest and most regressive form of taxation on the poor. Anyway, here is the song:

And now to Willie Nelson. This song is definitely a familiar situation for those trying to do better in life. Among the many things making it hard to keep going is the “money went to taxes”.

Finally I have to include a song from Remy. Just in time for Tax Day he has released a new song (that is a rework of Pharrell Williams song “Happy”).

Bonus Tracks

I don’t know why I even try to keep myself to just five songs. Here are a couple more songs that are worthy of mention on Tax Day.

This is an older song from Remy, but I actually think it says even more about our current tax system than his newer song.

This is one I came up while searching YouTube. I think this song sums up my feeling pretty well.

Another song I found while searching YouTube. A piece of satire to the tune of American Pie.

Happy “Tax Day” everyone!

Categories: Taxes Tags:
  1. Merlyn Schutterle
    April 15, 2014 at 1:04 pm

    Happiness is a temporary delusion. Sooner or later we have to deal with death. fate, and reality. We have to give up on peace and justice. They are human concepts. Maybe I have been watching too many science shows. Neil DeGrasse Tyson made me see the light, damn him.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
