Home > Education, South Dakota > South Dakota allowed another one-year extension to No Child Left Behind

South Dakota allowed another one-year extension to No Child Left Behind

July 7, 2014

educationI was looking through the Aberdeen News website and took notice that South Dakota gets year extension on No Child Left Behind (NCLB). The reason South Dakota “gets” a one year extension to NCLB is because Governor Daugaard and Education Secretary Schopp are committed to the centralization of education through Common Core. But this post isn’t about Pierre supporting further federal and special interest group control of public education. Rather this post is about the letter sent to Secretary Schopp giving South Dakota permission to be exempt from NCLB another year.

Education Week Blog has a copy of the letter in question. It is written by Deborah S. Delisle, Assistant Secretary for Elementary and Secondary Education at the DOE. Here is one paragraph I would like to point out:

Our team has reviewed South Dakota’s request and, pursuant to section 9401(d)(2) of the ESEA, I am pleased to extend South Dakota’s ESEA flexibility request for one year, through the end of the 2014–2015 school year. My decision to extend South Dakota’s ESEA flexibility request is based on my determination that ESEA flexibility has been effective in enabling South Dakota to carry out important reforms to improve student achievement and that this extension is in the public interest. I have also determined that South Dakota’s monitoring next steps have been adequately addressed. This letter also provides my approval of South Dakota’s proposed amendments to Principles 1 and 2 of its ESEA flexibility request. A summary of South Dakota’s approved amendments is enclosed with this letter, and South Dakota’s approved request will be posted on the U.S. Department of Education’s (ED) website.

I have added emphasis to some of the words I find relevant in this paragraph. Notice how much power Assistant Secretary Delisle has. This is a bureaucrat that was appointed to this position in 2012. The Senate confirmed her nomination in April of 2012 with a voice vote. The voters have no direct recourse if they are unhappy with her decisions or directives. As a political appointee she gets the benefit of massive amounts of power; but unlike elected politicians she has no accountability to anyone she will impact with her decisions.

Looking at the emphasized words above it is quite clear that Ms Delisle is more than happy to show how much power she has. From reading this is appears the decision to return taxpayer dollars to South Dakota for use on public education rests squarely upon her shoulder. She has the power to decide if South Dakota’s Department of Education bureaucrats have placed enough burdens on our teachers to warrant receiving federal dollars. I think even supporters of Common Core should be wary of so much power in the hands of a DC bureaucrat.

Perhaps now is the time for South Dakota to break this reliance upon DC for funding public education. Maybe during the 2015 legislative session there will be enough backbone from South Dakota’s limited-government controlled legislature to get rid of Common Core from South Dakota. Of course that would mean the state would have to stop funding misguided economic development programs and instead fund public education (my thoughts on this are posted here). I doubt that will ever happen… But its a nice thought.

  1. Merlyn Schutterle
    July 7, 2014 at 6:01 pm

    It has been my experience with Schopp is that she has no clue about education and got the job because she is a Daugaard cronie. I asked to meet with her several times and made appointments but never never met her, nor did I get any answers from her. She was always at a meeting, out of the office or somewhere else, and never answered my emails.

    Daugaard replaced Rounds’ Sec. for Education,Oster, who was very sharp man, understood the problems with reservation schools, who was always eager to meet with me, and who was a former superintendent, with Schopp who had no qualifications like that. .

    I almost laughed when I discovered we had an Indian Education Coordinator. Why do we have one of these and what do they do other than try to place blame on the education system for their failures? Do we have a coordinator for Hutterite education? Whenever I asked the Coordinator for Indian Education the really hard questions about its failures, I was considered a trouble maker. As I have said before, I am not a troublemaker. I do not make trouble. When I come on the scene, trouble done already happened, and I just show up to try to straighten stuff out.

    • July 8, 2014 at 2:01 pm

      Yeah, thats the problem. Certain people don’t want troubles pointed out. Actually it seems people pointing out troubles in government are seen as a more a problem than the actual troubles that are being pointed out.

      Schopp may be hard to get to. But she was sure busy testifying against all the anti-Common Core bills in legislative committees this last session. Actually I was happen for the session to be done. It was tiring hearing her say the same thing over and over.

  2. Merlyn Schutterle
    July 8, 2014 at 3:31 pm

    But it’s nothing like The Queen of Social Services. When I pointed out that SS actually abused my niece with their “investigation” initiated by a disgruntle neighbor, I didn’t get to meet with her either. I got the old dodge the bullet and cover up for the bureaucrat routine. They totally ignored how it affected my niece. If they had done their homework, they could have seen it was retaliation only and built solidly on lies.

    But what should I expect from bureaucrats? They don’t get paid much so we have to accept crap for quality. They are not brain surgeons or scientists or successful business people for a reason. Stupid people need a job, too. It’s just that they have too much political power for their brain power.

    When Daugaard took my check, shook my hand and promised to” listen to the people” on his first campaign,- his campaign slogan -, he forgot to mention the people he was going to listen to were his bureaucrats, not me. You know, the ones who follow him around when he swaggers into the Republican Building at the state fair.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
