Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > Weiland Town Hall in Aberdeen this afternoon

Weiland Town Hall in Aberdeen this afternoon

July 22, 2014

Today Democrat US Senate candidate Rick Weiland is hosting a Town Hall event in Aberdeen. The Town Hall will take place at 4pm in the Eagles Club. Here are the details of the event sent out by his campaign:

weilandTH

Weiland has been an interesting one to watch over the last year. On the good side, Weiland has traveled to every town in South Dakota to meet with people. Personally I wish more candidates would take such an approach in their campaigns. In his travels Weiland has met with voters in over 450 towns (I didn’t realize SD had that many towns). Also, according to an email from his campaign staff, Weiland has held over 200 public meetings. I don’t think Rounds, Howie, or Pressler will come close to that number of public meetings. For that reason Weiland definitely has my respect about his willingness to get out and interact with voters.

Now for some bad stuff. It was about 11 months ago when Weiland held a Town Hall in Aberdeen where he reinforced his position against collective rights. He has done nothing but reinforce that stance over the last year. At a joint presser with Nelson earlier this year Weiland was still talking about dirty money and would not address the fact he actually raises a higher percentage of his money out of state than Rounds does. Weiland has made restricting free speech the cornerstone of his campaign.

Just yesterday Weiland attacked the group Americans for Prosperity (AFP) in a presser after it was announced the AFP was coming to South Dakota. Weiland apparently fears AFP will buy a Senate seat and asked the other candidates to sign a letter asking the AFP to stay out of this race. There are two obvious problems with Weiland’s stance:

  1. Rounds already has enough money to buy this election. AFP helping Rounds would likely have little or no impact upon the race at this time.
  2. AFP is not likely going to help Rounds. AFP that uses local residents to promote the free market and sticks to economic issues. Rounds does not have a stellar record of fiscal conservatism. If anything I could see AFP campaigning against Rounds if situations were different. But since there are no good fiscal conservative alternatives to Rounds I expect AFP will stay out of the US Senate Race.

I really don’t care about the AFP entering into South Dakota. But I do find it odd that a US Senate candidate would come out and attack a group made up of constituents he would theoretically be serving if elected to office. Yes, he likely disagrees with the free market principles promoted by the group. But is disagreeing with a viewpoint enough reason for a politician to completely ignore part of a constituency?  This odd stance is reinforced by his new campaign theme song:

Notice how he says in the song he will not listen to the 1%. I understand he is campaigning against big money. But I really have problems with a candidate saying they won’t listen to all constituents. There is a big difference between ‘I won’t be bought’ and ‘I won’t listen’. Unfortunately Weiland doesn’t see that difference. I guess I do have one question about ignoring rich people. If Weiland isn’t going to listen to the uber-rich, will he then ignore current Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid if he wins this election?

Maybe at the Town Hall in Aberdeen Weiland will address such a question. I doubt it though. Politicians that use class warfare to win elections rarely think their own rhetoric should apply to their class….

  1. July 22, 2014 at 1:28 pm

    I’ll play devil’s advocate on the “listen to” idiom for a bit.Free Dictionary offers the following definitions.

    1. to pay attention to and hear someone or something. (Listen to me! Hear what I have to say! I want to listen to his speech.)
    2. to heed someone, orders, or advice. (Listen to me! Do what I tell you! You really should listen to his advice.)

    You’re apparently hearing the former, not paying attention to someone. I’m hearing the latter; he will not take orders from. I’m fine with ta

    If your reading is correct, then Weiland does not differ from Rounds, Thune, Daugaard,and Noem etc who refuse to hear any common folk concerns

    • July 22, 2014 at 1:33 pm

      Good point. I have taken it to mean that he won’t listen to viewpoints that don’t align with his. Part of that comes from a conversation I had with him last year. I could tell when talking with him that he was more worried about how to pass his message on to me, as opposed to listening to me.

      If he really is saying he won’t ‘take orders’, that would be great. I just don’t think that’s what he means. Although I do think that is what he wants people to think he means (if that makes sense).

  1. July 22, 2014 at 7:21 pm
Comments are closed.
