Home > Libertarian Party, SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > A post of random thoughts before the SD Libertarian convention

A post of random thoughts before the SD Libertarian convention

August 7, 2014

sdlpIn two days the SD Libertarian Party will have its state convention in Sioux Falls. The event details can be viewed on this Facebook event. Today my family will meet the foreign exchange student from Denmark we will be hosting for the school year. As part of that I will be taking the next day and half off from work and blogging. So this will be my last post before the convention starts. I thought I would just pass on some random thoughts about the convention. Since these thoughts are random and time is short I’m gonna fall back on a bad habit and use an un-ordered list.

  • The one part of the convention I’m looking forward to is hearing what the three Independent candidates chosen as guest speakers have to say. I have a feeling this will be the highlight of the event.
  • Some people have been pretty tough on Ryan Gaddy for announcing he wants to run for State Auditor. He has been called a number of names. He definitely has an in-your-face style, but that doesn’t mean he should instantly be discarded as a candidate before hearing him out. To those voting I would just ask that he be listened to. If nobody runs against him and the majority still dislike him, the None Of The Above option can prevail. I personally don’t know how I will vote. I am waiting to speak with Gaddy in person before making any final decisions.
  • Blogger Cory H over at Madville Times has withdrawn his intention to become a candidate for AG. Chad Haber remains in the race. I do think Haber makes a good possible case that the AG position shouldn’t be a lawyer, and instead act more as a watchdog. But I can’t say that means he is the right non-lawyer to be chosen AG. With longtime Libertarian Party member Kurt Evans in the race I believe there will be an interesting decision to make. Haber touts his ability to fund-raise as one of the reasons to vote for him, while Evans touts the fact he isn’t doing this for publicity reasons and has been a supporter of the party for a long time.
  • Emmett Reistroffer has announced his intention to run for SOS. I almost wonder if he shouldn’t stop that plan and instead focus on the idea of running against Brunner in the Commissioner of School and Public Lands race. Over the last year I’ve heard a few legislators mention getting rid of the CSPL altogether. Reistroffer may be the right person to implement a plan similar to the one proposed by Todd Epp.

I plan to live-tweet the event and do blog posts about the Convention throughout the following week. It should be an interesting time.

PS. Also coming out next week will be a blog post about an interview I did with Republican SOS candidate Shantel Krebs and anything political I find interesting at the Brown County Fair.

  1. Donkey Hunter
    August 7, 2014 at 5:15 pm

    Can’t wait to hear about Haber and the rest of the results.

  2. Merlyn Schutterle
    August 7, 2014 at 7:25 pm

    I will be in SF late Sat. Will you be there?

    • August 7, 2014 at 7:26 pm

      Yep. Not sure how late though

  3. Merlyn Schutterle
    August 8, 2014 at 8:05 am

    I hope to be in SF by early evening. Where is the meeting being held? ould I get a number to call?

    • August 8, 2014 at 9:08 am

      Its at the public library. I can be reached at 605-290-6651

      • Merlyn Schutterle
        August 8, 2014 at 9:27 am

        What time?

  4. August 8, 2014 at 2:41 pm

    Thanks Ken. This is Emmett. I’m running for SOS because that’s the office I feel most qualified for and most confident to run for. However, I agree with Todd Epp’s plan for land commissioner and hope we can nominate a candidate to run. I have a strong gut feeling somebody will step it up.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
