Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota > Second political forum on Pine Ridge Reservation will be held on Oct 1

Second political forum on Pine Ridge Reservation will be held on Oct 1

September 15, 2014

During the Primary election there was a political forum held at the Oglala Lakota College campus in Kyle, SD (see links below for my coverage of that event). I’ve been to a good number political forums and debates this year, and so far I think the first OLC forum was probably one of the best to actually get information from candidates. I thought the moderator, Tom Casey of KILI Radio, did a great job of picking questions that other forums seemed to avoid. Hopefully he will be able to do the same in the second OLC political forum.

Here is the info I have on this political forum so far:

Date: October 1, 2014

Time: 1:00 pm

Location: Woksape Tipi Library, Piya Wiconi Campus (Kyle, SD)

Moderator: Mr Tom Casey, KILI Radio

Confirmed Attendees: Susan Wismer (D), Mike Myers (I), Rick Weiland (D), and Larry Pressler (I).

Attendees which have not confirmed (candidates were contacted in August): Mike Rounds (R), Gordon Howie (I), Kristi Noem (R), Corinna Robinson (D), Dennis Daugaard (R)

I hope to attend this political forum and would urge anyone living on the Pine Ridge Reservation to attend as well!

My posts coming out of the first OLC forum be read as follows:

Here is the flier for this event released by the library staff:

2014-09-15_14-03-03

 

 

  1. Merlyn Schutterle
    September 15, 2014 at 5:59 pm

    Makes sense to me. All the losers are going to be there. The Republicans aren’t going to waste their time there. The rez is solid Democrat.

    Senator Jim Bradford might be there. He is one of the stupidest, totally incompetent teachers I ever supervised. They send that idiot to the legislature whether the Republicans run him or the Democrats do, and they both have. I have NO respect for the politics on the reservations. Now if you want to talk about being corrupt, I have some war stories to tell you.

    I remember once when I was going to talk to Senator Daschle about the schools on the rez. I asked one of my former students Chad Two Hearts. what roll the tribe should have in education to improve it. He said,”They can’t be part of it because are corrupt themselves,”

  1. September 16, 2014 at 2:27 pm
  2. October 1, 2014 at 9:13 am
Comments are closed.
