Home > SD 2014 Ballot, South Dakota, Uncategorized > My pick for the SD Gubernatorial race

My pick for the SD Gubernatorial race

October 16, 2014
Daugaard and Myers before the Dakotafest debate. Photo by Ken Santema 08/20/14

Daugaard and Myers before the Dakotafest debate. Photo by Ken Santema 08/20/14

Last week the candidates for South Dakota Governor participated in the SDPB debate. I was going to do a post about the debate, but honestly nothing new came out of the debate that I hadn’t already blogged about (that, plus a medical emergency in the family prevented me from blogging). The Dakotafest gubernatorial debate was by far the best between the three and left Democrat challenger Wismer a chance to go after the incumbent Governor Daugaard. Alas that did not happen. Wismer’s performance at the State Fair debate was simply too lackluster. After watching the SDPB debate and speaking with others I think Wismer pretty much sealed Daugaard’s victory. She spent plenty of time attacking the things Republicans currently in office have done; but I’ve spoken with many who agree with me that she didn’t’ really offer any solutions beyond normal talking points as to how she would actually lead the state in a better manner. I really wonder how this race would have gone if Lowe had won the Democrat primary…

Ok, since I basically just said that Daugaard is going to win, does that mean I will vote for him? Nope. I will vote for Independent Gubernatorial candidate Mike Myers. Even though I disagree with him on a few issues, I feel he is the candidate that will actually push for some key political reforms. First, he is the only candidate that actually opposes Common Core. Daugaard’s administration has been working quite dutifully to implement Common Core. Daugaard himself has supported Common Core and believes such standards are necessary. Wismer has been more quiet on the subject, but she has yet to say she even has concerns about Common Core. For that reason I believe any of the anti-Common Core vote should go to Myers.

Another area Myers is ahead of the other two candidates is transparency. Myers is actually pushing for true transparency in Pierre. Daugaard gives lip-service to fighting for transparency, yet it hasn’t been a very big priority over his first term. I don’t think it would be wise to believe Daugaard would suddenly make transparency a true priority in his second term (kinda reminds me of Obama, he campaigned twice on transparency and ended up being the least transparent Presidential administration in recent history). When talking about transparency I don’t get the impression from Wismer that she has that as a high priority. Instead she has a high priority of Republicans being more transparent. Yes, making Republicans in Pierre more transparent may end up creating more transparency in South Dakota overall, yet that is the not the same as actually advocating for a more transparent government. For that reason I believe anyone that cares about government transparency should vote for Myers.

Finally Myers has been an advocate for agricultural and industrial hemp production in South Dakota. He promotes this as an economic development plan in South Dakota. I agree completely. In fact I’ve spoken with a number of farmers in NE South Dakota that would love to have hemp available as an option. Plus, it would work well on reservations, where economic development of some type is needed the most. Daugaard and Wismer both appear to be avoiding the topic of agricultural hemp. Too bad. The production of industrial hemp and manufacturing of products from hemp could allow a boom of economic development in South Dakota.

There is one more debate between the three candidates. On Wednesday October 22nd KELO TV will televise a gubernatorial debate at 8pm CT. Unless KELO comes up with some interesting questions, I simply don’t see that debate adding anything new about the candidates.

Since this race has nothing more to offer, I will close this post by predicting an easy win for Daugaard. Yet at the same time I will say that my vote is going to Myers. It is the only vote I can see casting in the SD gubernatorial race with a clear conscience.

  1. Tara Volesky
    October 16, 2014 at 3:13 pm

    Ken, it’s good to know that you won’t be wasting your vote by voting your conscience. Thanks.

  2. Merlyn Schutterle
    October 16, 2014 at 7:37 pm

    I Agree. Myers is what we need in the governors office, but we are not going to get it. He missed some good chances to make a difference.

    I’m still laughing about Tara banning me from the Myers campaign site. She talks about open government and freedom of speech, but she commits the same sins she accuses others of. Her idea of respectful speech is agreeing with her. When she gets challenged, she can’t take the heat.

    She’s gets high on her own emotion and wants to get in the cage with the gorilla, but when she realizes she is getting her butt kicked, she gets out of the cage, locks the door and declares victory. I think it is her ineptitude that is keeping Mike down. I told her that and now she’s mad at me.

  3. Tara Volesky
    October 16, 2014 at 8:18 pm

    Merlyn, there was a reason Mike would not take your $100 dollar donation because you are an idiot, and I will not allow a person like you to try and destroy Mike’s character. When you go after me, you go after Mike. Not going to happen. Take you money and give it to somebody else. Mike is not for sale!

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      October 16, 2014 at 8:33 pm

      Now,now, now, Tara, be respectful. There is no way I tried to destroy Mike’s character. You are making things up in your head. As you know, my son and son-in-law are doctors and they would disagree with your diagnosis. my son thinks I am one of the most rational people he knows. I don’t think he would say that about you. I don’t think you are an idiot, just not too bright. I don’t think you did Mike justice.

      I really got a laugh at the woman who said I was weird. She has never seen me, nor talked to me or any of my good friends. She is willing to make judgments on things she knows nothing about. I think that applies to you as well.

      As Ken said, the election is over, but you think Mike will win. We will see who is wrong and who isn’t.

      • Tara Volesky
        October 16, 2014 at 8:59 pm

        Merlyn, I respect my campaign, and they have suggested for quite some time to get rid of you. So, Merlyn, go support somebody else. Thanks. We are happy to have the endorsement of SoDakLiberty because they have no bias one way or the other.

      • Merlyn Schutterle
        October 17, 2014 at 1:50 pm

        You certainly don’t need me to lose, Tara. I’m waiting to see if Ken and I turn out to be what you call idiots or the other way around. I think Ken has a pretty clear view of things. Unfortunately, you live in fantasy land.

        You can’t block me from this blog, Tara. Ha,ha! Oh, for the freedom of speech and debate. Oh, ya, you don’t like that. At least I find you somewhat amusing.

        You need to get off the computer and spend your time trying to find out how to win. Third place doesn’t count.

      • Merlyn Schutterle
        October 17, 2014 at 1:55 pm

        P.S. I never was part of your campaign, so how can you and your friends get rid of me? I just supported Mike’s ideas. I still support them, but it is a hopeless effort, especially with you running things.

  4. Tara Volesky
    October 18, 2014 at 8:33 am

    You got like this Ken. Meryln, you know Mike doesn’t read blogs, but this is to good to pass up. I will make sure he reads all of your comments. He will get quite a laugh out of this. Merlyn, you are a great trash talker. lol.

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      October 18, 2014 at 9:43 am

      Trash is anything you don’t want to hear,Tara.

      Don’t try to dictate to me who I can support and who I can’t.

      Mike can laugh all he wants now, but it will be me who gets the last laugh.

      Maybe someone who doesn’t know there from their and to from too shouldn’t be managing a campaign, Tara.

  5. Tara Volesky
    October 18, 2014 at 8:35 am

    Merlyn, can you please post where I called Ken an idiot. Get your facts straight buddy.

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      October 18, 2014 at 9:17 am

      You implied we were idiots because we know you are wrong about having any chance for Mike to win. We will see, Tara.

  6. Tara Volesky
    October 18, 2014 at 9:42 am

    I implied you are an idiot, not Ken. The fight to clean up corruption in SD does not stop Nov. 4. Like Eleanor Roosevelt quoted, ” you must do the things you think you cannot do”

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      October 18, 2014 at 9:55 am

      What happened to that respect thing you complained about? And you complain about trash talk.

      Your problem is that you cannot do the things you think you can. You think Mike has a chance to get elected. It’s not going to happen.

      Obviously you don’t know the definition of an idiot either. Besides that, I’m smarter than you are so what does that make you?

      You are trying to play in the big leagues, Tara, but you belong in the sand lot leagues.

      I have work to do today. I will leave the blog watching to you since you have nothing better to do anyway.

      • Tara Volesky
        October 18, 2014 at 10:01 am

        Your a classy guy Merlyn. We play sand lot. We don’t have the millions to be in the big leagues. Have a nice day.

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      October 19, 2014 at 12:50 pm

      No, you didn’t imply I was an idiot, you stated that. Since Ken and I are pretty much on the same page, it must go for him too.

      Now, Tara, if I am an idiot, you will have to admit you learned from an idiot – well, part way that is. I still have a lot to teach you if your are smart enough to understand it. I taught the their/there and the too/to skills in the fourth grade. I guess you hadn’t caught on yet.

      I’m a man of science, logic, facts and evidence. You and Mike are people of myth and magic. You believe in a god for which there is no evidence exists. That is the problem with people in politics. They have to pray for guidance to a god. I want someone who takes responsibility for their own decisions. Actually, they are mostly liars and Hippocrates. If they really believed that nonsense, they would live differently.

      People who think the pope, the president of LDS and Mohammad get directions from god are people I don’t have any “faith” in. It’s all in the myths of the Bible, the Book of Mormon and the Koran. My hero is Neil DeGrasse Tyson. He is a man of science, logic, facts and evidence too. I guess, in your judgement, he is an idiot as well.

      You and Mike need to get to church and pray for a miracle from God because you are going to need it. I think I already know the answer.

  1. October 19, 2014 at 12:14 pm
  2. October 22, 2014 at 2:05 pm
Comments are closed.
