Home > Rights > Some words about Veterans day from one of my sons

Some words about Veterans day from one of my sons

November 14, 2014

veteransdayOn Veterans Day I attended the short assembly held at OM Tiffany, where my two youngest boys attend elementary school. I was proud to stand up alongside a few dozen other veterans. During the ceremony a series of short essays written by students were read to the crowd My middle child Lawson asked if I would post his words about Veterans Day on my blog. Here is his short essay (he’s in fourth grade) about Veterans Day:

We thank veterans for our freedom. Freedom is very important because if we didn’t have freedom wouldn’t be free. I also thank veterans and everyone else that keeps us safe. Thank-you Dad.

Thank-you Lawson!

Categories: Rights Tags:
  1. Merlyn Schutterle
    November 14, 2014 at 4:04 pm

    Well, I served four years in the service, but I don’t think it was anything special. It was just a job.I didn’t get hurt, and the only danger I may have been in is if one those old planes crashed while I was in it. I did lose two of my good friends in crashes though. I don’t believe we can honor them because they are dead and can’t see it. I understand their sacrifices and I respect their efforts. But I guess if we think we honor them, it may help us even if it doesn’t help them.

  2. Reagan Republican
    November 16, 2014 at 2:06 pm

    Thank you for your service to our country Ken through military service! I’m also glad your service continues to this day as a private citizen by articulating your thoughts and ideas to move our country in a better direction through this blog.

    “We, in this country, in this generation, are — by destiny rather than by choice — the watchmen on the walls of world freedom. We ask, therefore, that we may be worthy of our power and responsibility, that we may exercise our strength with wisdom and restraint, and that we may achieve in our time and for all time the ancient vision of “peace on earth, good will toward men.” That must always be our goal, and the righteousness of our cause must always underlie our strength. For as was written long ago: “except the Lord keep the city, the watchmen waketh but in vain.” – JFK

  3. November 20, 2014 at 4:05 am

    I think that everything posted made a bunch of sense. But,
    think about this, what if you added a little information?

    I am not suggesting your information isn’t good., but suppose you added a post title that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean Some words about Veterans day from one of my
    sons | SoDakLiberty is a little boring. You should
    glance at Yahoo’s home page and note how they create post
    headlines to get people to click. You might add a related video or a pic
    or two to grab people excited about what you’ve got to say.

    Just my opinion, it might bring your website a little bit more interesting.

  4. Individualist
    November 24, 2014 at 6:41 pm

    What is the future of the SD libertarian party?

    • Merlyn Schutterle
      November 24, 2014 at 7:10 pm

      Fortunately or unfortunately, the Libertarian party has played no role of importance, and it won’t for the foreseeable future. They can’t field good candidates, and that puts them in the fringe category.

      The same can be said for the Independents. I liked Mike Myers, but he was a very weak candidate and didn’t help the cause.I tried to help him out, but he didn’t take my advice and got humiliated.

  5. Merlyn Schutterle
    December 2, 2014 at 8:20 am

    Have you quit your blog? If you are really interested in exposing abuse and corruption, I have some suggestions for you.

    • December 2, 2014 at 9:19 am

      No, I didn’t quit. I just had to get a lot of work-related things caught up the last few weeks. Over the last year I had fallen behind and had to rectify that situation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
