Home > 2015 SD Legislative Session > SD 2015 Legislature: House Ag & Natural Resources committee have two bills listed for January 20

SD 2015 Legislature: House Ag & Natural Resources committee have two bills listed for January 20

January 17, 2015

On Tuesday, January 20th, at 8:00am the House Agriculture and Natural Resources committee will get an update from Secretary Pirner and look at two bills. Here are the two bills the committee will be taking up:

HB 1006 – Allow bullheads to be used as bait.

This bill is sponsored by Representative Werner (District 22). Current law states that “carp, goldfish, and game fish (except cleanings thereof)” cannot be used as bait. This bill would allow bullhead to be used as bait. I’ve actually used bullhead as bait for catching catfish in Minnesota. Well, actually let me revise my last sentence: I’ve actually used bullhead as bait to try catching catfish in Minnesota, but the dang Walleye kept biting and usually took away my chances for getting catfish! I know there is some resistance to this bill because of fear that bullhead will spread due to people dumping their bait. Well, I would like to know what lake and/or river in South Dakota doesn’t currently have bullhead to where that would be a problem. Personally I don’t see any downside to this bill. I guess my only question is whether being able to use bullhead in SD will make any difference. The catfish on the Mississippi in MN are a few steps above what is found here in SD. In reality I think a better bill would have to remove bullhead as a game fish altogether. But this bill will allow bullhead to be used legally as bait so I guess I would recommend the SD Legislature pass it. It might make some of their constituents happy.

HB 1014 – Repeal certain obsolete and unnecessary statutes relating to the Department of Environment and Natural Resources.

This bill comes at the request of the SD Department of Environmental and Natural Resources (DENR). This bill would remove five pieces of old codified law. This is the type of bill I like. It removes old code and adds nothing to codified law. Looking through the repealed provisions I don’t see any red flags.

