Home > 2015 SD Legislative Session > 36 SD House Commemorations enrolled during the 2015 legislative session

36 SD House Commemorations enrolled during the 2015 legislative session

March 6, 2015
Sturgis Motorcycle Rally 2015

Sturgis Motorcycle Rally 2015

This year the SD House passed 36 legislative commemoration. These really have no impact upon anything. Here is the definition of a legislative commemoration per the Joint Rules:

A legislative commemoration expresses recognition of service or achievements of national or statewide importance or expresses sorrow over death or loss

All 36 of the commemorations introduced in the House passed and the Senate concurred with. Most of them relate to schools.

One notable commemoration is HC 1032. Only because it bring attention to the 75th annual Sturgis® Motorcycle Rally this summer. Perhaps some blogging from the Rally is in order this year!

In case anyone is curious, here is the list of House Commemorations that passed during the 2015 legislative session.

HC 1001 – SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring Jim Hagen in Pierre, South Dakota, for receiving the State Tourism Director of the Year Award.

HC 1002SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Hunter Paulsen, a senior at Elk Point-Jefferson High School, for his outstanding accomplishments in the sport of cross country.

HC 1003SoDakLiberty Posts Commending and honoring the Alcester-Hudson Cubs football team on an outstanding season in 2014.

HC 1004 – SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending the Sioux Valley High School Competitive Cheer Team and coaches for the 2014 South Dakota State Class A Competitive Cheer championship.

HC 1005 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Paul Young of Spearfish as the 2014 winner of the South Dakota Municipal League Excellence in Municipal Government Award.

HC 1006 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the Dell Rapids Boys Golf Team for a successful 2014 season.

HC 1007 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the Dell Rapids Quarriers Football Team on a successful 2014 season.

HC 1008 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring Emily Hawkes of Madison High School for being selected as South Dakota’s Gatorade Cross Country Runner of the Year for the 2014 cross country season.

HC 1009 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring Kieron James Murphy for his service to the West Central School District and to the community of Hartford, South Dakota.

HC 1010 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Elizabeth Spier of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, Girls State Governor, and John Dannenbring of Yankton, South Dakota, Boys State Governor, and commending the South Dakota American Legion and Auxiliary for their sponsorship and coordination of the Girls State and Boys State programs.

HC 1011 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Congratulating and commending the 2014 James Valley Christian High School Boys Basketball Team for the school’s first State Class B Boys’ Basketball Championship.

HC 1012 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Congratulating and commending the Hamlin High School football team for winning the 2014 State 9B Football Championship.

HC 1013 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the Sioux Valley School District Board of Education on receiving the Associated School Boards of South Dakota School Board Award of Excellence for 2014.

HC 1014 –  SoDakLiberty PostsCommending and honoring the community of Wagner, South Dakota, for its celebration of 115 years of hosting the Wagner Labor Day festivities.

HC 1015 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring senior Chris Pollema of Dakota Valley High School on his academic success.

HC 1016 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring and commending the 2014 Gregory High School Football Team.

HC 1017 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Arlington Cardinal football players Brody Gilbertson, Kyle Stegeman, Parker Christesen, Alex Heuer, and Richard Jensen.

HC 1018 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the Arlington High School Oral lnterp Team on an outstanding season in 2014.

HC 1019 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Arlington Cardinal volleyball players, seniors Daylee Olson, Josie Parry, Kimberly VanBockern, Nikki Zobel, and Cuinsey Murphy, and junior Bailee Steffensen.

HC 1020 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Huron High School Assistant Principal Mike Radke for being named the 2015 South Dakota Assistant Principal of the Year.

HC 1021 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the 2014 Lincoln High School students.

HC 1022 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the Pierre Junior Shooters BB Gun Team for winning the 2014 Daisy National BB Gun Championship.

HC 1023 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the Parkston Trojan football team on a successful 2014 season.

HC 1024 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the Parkston High School wrestling team and coach Jared Digmann on their accomplishments.

HC 1025 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the Parkston High School Girls Golf program and coaches Tyler Hockett and Eric Norden on their accomplishments.

HC 1026 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Parkston High School Athletic Director and Girls Basketball Coach Rob Vanlaecken on his career accomplishments and retirement.

HC 1027 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Congratulating and commending the Yankton High School Bucks football team for winning the 2014 State 11AA Football Championship.

HC 1028 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Congratulating and commending the Wolsey-Wessington High School Boys Football Team as the 2014 South Dakota Class 9A Championship Runner-Up.

HC 1029 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Celebrating and honoring the South Dakota Snow Queen Festival on sixty-nine years of existence in the state.

HC 1030 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Sheriff Mike Leidholt for his years of dedication, exemplary service, and service as President of the National Sheriffs’ Association.

HC 1031 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the 2015 Huron High School Speech and Debate Team on their outstanding performance.

HC 1032 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring the 75th anniversary of the Sturgis® Motorcycle Rally™, and recognizing Deadwood as “The Historic Jewel of the Black Hills.”

HC 1033 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the West Central High School FFA chapter.

HC 1034 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Commending and honoring the West Central High School Band for its accomplishments.

HC 1035 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring Jessica Benson, an esteemed resident of Rapid City and a student at West Middle School, for achieving national recognition for exemplary volunteer service with a 2015 Prudential Spirit of Community Award.

HC 1036 –  SoDakLiberty Posts – Honoring and Commending Abbigail Boner of Castlewood, South Dakota, for receiving a 2015 Prudential Spirit of Community Award.

%d bloggers like this: